Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Austria Websites & Languages Skip to Content

Qualify as an Industrial Functional Safety Professional (IFSP) with the personal qualification program for IEC 61508, developed by SGS.

People in a glass meeting room

Qualify to work in functional safety with our two-step qualification program.

Step 1: Industrial Functional Safety Professional (IFSP)

To qualify as an IFSP, trainees must complete all the modules within this section, and complete a final two-hour exam to demonstrate that they have learnt and retained the information.

The IFSP training modules include:

  • A2: Functional Safety Management (FSM) and Safety Management - processes - support processes
  • A3: Concept development and from risk analysis to concept design
  • A4: Hardware development and safety-oriented hardware development and methodical approach to safety analysis
  • A5: Software development and Safety-oriented software development

Modules can be booked independently.

Learners who can prove that they have already attended equivalent training modules can apply to SGS to sit the test separately.

Step 2: Industrial Functional Safety Expert (IFSE)

To achieve IFSE status, learners must demonstrate that they have performed relevant work for at least five years. Individuals desiring to achieve this status should apply to the SGS-TÜV Saar Testing Commission, documenting their experience in functional safety and successfully pass a three-hour qualification audit.

On successful completion of this program the SGS-TÜV Saar seal confirms to the attendee that he/she is an IFSE.

To find out more about our personal qualification program contact us today.